Honors and Distinctions in 2000

Prof. Dr. Aguzzi Adriano, Full Professor of Neuropathology, won the EUR 30,000 first prize of the 2000 Biotec Award for his outstanding work in the area of biomedical research. He was also appointed an Individual Member by the Senate of the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

Prof. Dr. Bachofen Reinhard, Professor Emeritus of General Botany, was honored with the "Recognition Award for outstanding contributions to the International Symposium on Subsurface Microbiology."

Prof. Dr. Basler Konrad, Full Professor of Molecular Biology, won the CHF 1.8 million 2000 Louis Jeantet Preize for Medicine together with two other prizewinners. This distinction was conferred on him for his discovery of proteins which signal limb development during the embryonic phase ("morphogens"). He was also elected a member of Academia Europaea.

Prof. Dr. Bauknecht Kurt, Full Professor of Informatics, was awarded an honorary doctorate in Technical Sciences by the Johannes Kepler Universität Linz.

Prof. Dr. Bernoulli Daniel, Professor Emeritus of Geology, was awarded the Prestwich Prize by the Société Géologique de France.

Prof. Dr. Billeter Martin A., Professor Emeritus of Molecular Biology, received the following three honors: Appointment as Corresponding Member of the Society for Virology, a gold medal and prize from the Scientific Research Foundation (Stiftung für wissenschaftliche Forschung) and appointment as a Member of Academia Europaea.

Prof. Dr. Cook Christopher D. K., Professor Emeritus of Systematic Botany, was awarded both the prestigious David Fairchild Medal and the Prize for Plant Exploration by the US National Botanical Garden, an organization dedicated to the promotion of tropical botany.

Prof. Dr. Douglas Rodney J.,Full Professor of Theoretical Neuroinformatics, and four other prize-winners received the 2000 Körber European Science Award worth DM 1.5 million for their research program entitled "Form perception in technology using knowledge taken from nature". This is Germany's most highly endowed science award.

Prof. Dr. Endress Peter K., Full Professor of Systematic Botany, was chosen to become a member of the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina.

Das Department of Geography received a "Special Achievement in GIS Award" from the Environmental Systems Research Institute in California.

Gsponer Jörg, Department of Biochemistry, was conferred with the 2002 "Prix Docteur César Roux" by the University of Lausanne.

Hermann Michael und Leuthold Heiri, Department of Geography, were the first recipients of the "Die goldene Brille – Prix Media 2000" (Golden Glasses – 2000 Media Award) presented by the Swiss Academy of Humanities and Social Sciences (SAGW). This prize is worth CHF 10,000.

Prof. Dr. Keller Beat, Full Professor of Plant Biology, was elected Vice President Swiss Academy of Natural Sciences.

Ehrungen und Auszeichnungen 2000

Prof. Dr. Aguzzi Adriano, Ordentlicher Professor für Neuropathologie, wurde mit dem ersten Preis des Biotec Award 2000 in der Höhe von 30 000 Euro für seine herausragenden biomedizinischen Forschungen geehrt. Ausserdem ist er vom Senat der Schweizerischen Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften zum Einzelmitglied berufen worden.

Prof. Dr. Bachofen Reinhard, Emeritierter Professor für allgemeine Botanik, wurde mit dem «Recognition Award for outstanding contributions to the International Symposium on Subsurface Microbiology» ausgezeichnet.

Prof. Dr. Basler Konrad, Ordentlicher Professor für Molekularbiologie, hat zusammen mit zwei anderen Preisträgern den mit 1,8 Millionen Franken dotierten Louis-Jeantet-Preis für Medizin 2000 erhalten. Diese Auszeichnung wurde ihm für die Entdeckung gestaltbildender Proteine der Embryonalentwicklung («Morphogene») zugesprochen. Ferner wurde er als Mitglied der Academia Europaea gewählt.

Prof. Dr. Bauknecht Kurt, Ordentlicher Professor für Informatik, wurde von der Johannes Kepler Universität Linz die Würde eines Ehrendoktors der Technischen Wissenschaften verliehen.

Prof. Dr. Bernoulli Daniel, Emeritierter Professor für Geologie, wurde mit dem Prix Prestwich der Société Géologique de France geehrt.

Prof. Dr. Billeter Martin A., Emeritierter Professor für Molekularbiologie, wurden folgende drei Ehrungen zuteil: Wahl zum Korrespondierenden Mitglied der Gesellschaft für Virologie e.V., Preis mit Goldmedaille der Stiftung für wissenschaftliche Forschung und Wahl zum Mitglied der Academia Europaea.

Prof. Dr. Cook Christopher D. K., Emeritierter Professor für Systematische Botanik, wurde vom US National Botanical Garden, einer Organisation zur Förderung der tropischen Botanik, die renommierte David Fairchild Medal sowie der Prize for Plant Exploration verliehen.

Prof. Dr. Douglas Rodney J., Ordentlicher Professor für Theoretische Neuroinformatik, hat für das Forschungsprogramm «Gestaltwahrnehmung in der Technik mit Erkenntnissen aus der Natur» gemeinsam mit vier anderen Preisträgern den mit 1,5 Millionen DM dotierten Körber- Preis für die Europäische Wissenschaft 2000 erhalten. Es ist dies der höchstdotierte deutsche Wissenschaftspreis.

Prof. Dr. Endress Peter K., Ordentlicher Professor für Systematische Botanik, wurde als Mitglied der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina gewählt.

Das Geographische Institut hat den «Special Achievement in GIS Award» des Environmental Systems Research Institute in Kalifornien erhalten.

Gsponer Jörg, Biochemisches Institut, ist mit dem «Prix Docteur César Roux» der Universität Lausanne für das Jahr 2000 ausgezeichnet worden.

Hermann Michael und Leuthold Heiri, Geographisches Institut, wurde von der Schweizerischen Akademie der Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (SAGW) die erstmals vergebene Auszeichnung «Die goldene Brille – Prix Media 2000» verliehen. Der Preis ist mit 10 000 Franken dotiert.

Prof. Dr. Keller Beat, Ordentlicher Professor für Pflanzenbiologie, wurde zum Vizepräsidenten der Schweizerischen Akademie der Naturwissenschaften (SANW) gewählt.