Honors and Distinctions in 2005

Prof. Dr. Douglas Rodney, Full Professor of Theoretical Neuroinformatics, was honored with the 2004 Fritz Kutter Prize for a project he supervised entitled "Adaptive Building Intelligence." 

Prof. Dr. Hafen Ernst, Full Professor of Zoology, and Professor Ulrich Hartl of MPI Munich were jointly awarded the EUR 250,000 Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine. Dr. Hafen was also elected President of ETH Zurich.

Prof. Dr. Hamm Peter, Associate Professor of Physical Chemistry, won the "Pnevmatikos Award in Nonlinear Science."

Prof. Dr. Hector Andrew, Assistant Professor of Environmental Sciences, received the 2005 International Recognition of Professional Excellence Prize (IRPE) from the Ecology Institute in the area of Terrestrial Ecology. 

Prof. Dr. Heimgartner Heinz, part-time Associate Professor of Organic Chemistry, was recognized for his outstanding research work in the area of heterocyclic chemistry and his contributions towards the understanding of heterocycles with the 2005 Kametani Award.

Prof. Dr. Kägi Jeremias, Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry, was honored at the 5th International Conference on Metallothionein in Beijing, China, for his fundamental research in the conference's subject area by being named both Honorary Chairman and first plenary speaker. 

Prof. Dr. Keller Lukas F., Assistant Professor in Animal Evolutionary Biology, was named P.L. Wright Distinguished Conservation Biologist in 2005 by the University of Montana in Missoula, Montana, USA.

Prof. Dr. Plückthun Andreas, Full Professor of Biochemistry, and his team were awarded the 2005 W.A. de Vigier Prize in their role as founders of the start-up company "Molecular Partners." This prize is awarded to recognize highly innovative technologies with great economic potential. He and his team also received the 2005 Swiss Technology Award.

Rothenbühler Christine, and Müller Urs, both doctoral students in the Department of Geography, tied for best presentation at the Phil. Alp conference entitled "The Alps seen by young scientists – young researchers present the findings of their theses within the scope of the National Research Programme NRP 48."

Seidl Kati, graduand at the Limnological Station of the University of Zurich, was awarded the Zurich Limnology Prize by the Hydrobiological-Limnological Foundation for Water Research (Hydrobiologie-Limnologie-Stiftung für Gewässerforschung) at the previous annual meeting of the Swiss Society for Hydrology and Limnology for her thesis entitled "Characterization of phototrophic bacteria in Egelsee (Switzerland) and in Lake Shira (Khakasia, Russia)."

Prof. Dr. Straumann Professor Emeritus of Theoretical Physics, was awarded an honorary doctorate by the Faculty of Science of the University of Berne.

Tasdemir Deniz, Research Associate at the Institute of Organic Chemistry, was presented with the 2005 Egon Stahl Award (silver) in recognition of her outstanding research work in the area of pharmaceutical biology by the Society for Medicinal Plant Research Society for Medicinal Plant Research. The Phytochemical Society of Europe also awarded her the 2004 Pierre Fabre Prize for her work in the areas of phytochemistry and plant biochemistry.

Prof. Dr. Thompson Alan B., Full Professor of Petrology, was elected as Fellow of the World Innovation Foundation. 

Prof. Dr. Wehner Rüdiger, Full Professor of Zoology, was elected as an Honorary Foreign Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He was also presented with an honorary doctorate by the Humboldt University of Berlin.

Ehrungen und Auszeichnungen 2005

Prof. Dr. Douglas Rodney, ordentlicher Professor für Theoretische Neuroinformatik, wurde mit dem Fritz-Kutter-Preis 2004 für das von ihm betreute Projekt «Adaptive Building Intelligence» ausgezeichnet. 

Prof. Dr. Hafen Ernst, ordentlicher Professor für Zoologie, hat zusammen mit Prof. Ulrich Hartl, MPI München, den mit 250 000 Euro dotierten Ernst-Jung-Preis für Medizin erhalten. Zudem ist er zum Präsidenten der ETH Zürich gewählt worden.

Prof. Dr. Hamm Peter, ausserordentlicher Professor für Physikalische Chemie, hat den Wissenschaftspreis «Pnevmatikos Award in Nonlinear Science» gewonnen.

Prof. Dr. Hector Andrew, Assistenzprofessor für Umweltwissenschaften, hat vom Ecology Institute den International Recognition of Professional Excellence Prize (IRPE) 2005 in Terrestrial Ecology erhalten. 

Prof. Dr. Heimgartner Heinz, nebenamtlicher ausserordentlicher Professor für Organische Chemie, wurde für seine hervorragende Forschung in Heterocyclic Chemistry und für seine Beiträge zu Heterocycles mit dem Kametani Award 2005 ausgezeichnet.

Prof. Dr. Kägi Jeremias, emeritierter Professor für Biochemie, wurde an der 5. internationalen Konferenz über Metallothionein in Peking, China, für seine grundlegenden Forschungsbeiträge zur Konferenzthematik als Ehrenvorsitzender und erster Plenarredner geehrt. 

Prof. Dr. Keller Lukas F., Assistenzprofessor für Evolutionsbiologie der Tiere, wurde von der Universität Montana in Missoula, USA, für das Jahr 2005 zum P.L. Wright Distinguished Conservation Biologist ernannt.

Prof. Dr. Plückthun Andreas, ordentlicher Professor für Biochemie, wurde zusammen mit seinem Team als Gründer der Start-up-Firma «Molecular Partners» mit dem W.-A.-de-Vigier-Preis 2005 ausgezeichnet. Dieser Preis wird für die innovativsten Technologien mit grossem wirtschaftlichem Potenzial verliehen. Zudem wurden er und sein Team mit dem Swiss Technology Award 2005 ausgezeichnet.

Rothenbühler Christine, Doktorandin, und Müller Urs, Doktorand, beide am Geographischen Institut, haben an der Phil.-Alp-Tagung «Die Alpen aus der Sicht junger Forschender – Nachwuchsforschende präsentieren Ergebnisse ihrer Abschlussarbeiten im Rahmen des NFP 48» ex aequo den Preis für die beste Präsentation erhalten.

Seidl Kati, Diplomandin an der Limnologischen Station der Universität Zürich, hat anlässlich der letzten Jahresversammlung der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Hydrologie und Limnologie für ihre Diplomarbeit «Characterization of phototrophic bacteria in Egelsee (Switzerland) and in Lake Shira (Khakasia, Russia)» den Zürcher Limnologiepreis der Hydrobiologie-Limnologie-Stiftung für Gewässerforschung erhalten.

Prof. Dr. Straumann Norbert, emeritierter Professor für Theoretische Physik, wurde von der Philosophisch- naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Bern die Ehrendoktorwürde verliehen.

Tasdemir Deniz, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Organisch-chemischen Institut, wurde für ihre herausragende Forschung auf dem Gebiet der pharmazeutischen Biologie von der Gesellschaft für Arzneipflanzenforschung mit dem Egon Stahl Award 2005 in Silber ausgezeichnet. Zudem verlieh ihr die Phytochemical Society of Europe den Pierre-Fabre-Preis 2004 für ihre Arbeiten zur Phytochemie und Pflanzenbiochemie.

Prof. Dr. Thompson Alan B., ordentlicher Professor für Petrologie, wurde von der World Innovation Foundation zum Fellow gewählt. 

Prof. Dr. Wehner Rüdiger, ordentlicher Professor für Zoologie, wurde zum Honorary Foreign Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences gewählt. Zudem hat ihm die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin die Ehrendoktorwürde verliehen.