Honors and Distinctions in 2012

Claude Amsler, Professor Emeritus of Experimental Physics, was appointed to the SNSF Committee for awarding grants to young researchers under the Ambizione program.

Camillo De Lellis, Full Professor of Pure Mathematics, received a Starting Grant from the European Research Council for his project “RAM – Regularity Theory for Area-Minimizing Currents”.

Urs F. Greber, Full Professor of Molecular Cell Biology, was elected as a member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO).

Daisuke Koyabu, Postdoctoral researcher at the Paleontological Institute and Museum, received the Young Investigator Award from the Mammalogical Society of Japan.

Cristina Nevado Blázquez, Assistant Professor (with tenure track) of Organic Chemistry, received an ERC Starting Grant for her project “NIGOCAT – Nature-Inspired Gold Catalytic Tools”. She also won the Werner Prize 2012.

John A. Robinson, Full Professor of Organic Chemistry, was awarded the Max Bergmann Kreis Gold Medal for his work in peptide chemistry.

Daniel Wachter, Adjunct Professor of Geography, was appointed Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Academy for Spatial Research and Planning (ARL) in Germany.

Rüdiger Wehner, Professor Emeritus of Zoology, was elected Fellow of the International Society for Neuroethology.

Michael Zemp, Privatdozent at the Department of Geography, was elected as a member of the United Nations Terrestrial Observation Panel for Climate (TOPC) and the Global Climate Observing System (GCOS).

Calls to Professorships at Other Universities

Laura Baudis, Full Professor at the Department of Physics, was called to, but did not accept, the post of Professor of Experimental Physics at the University of Heidelberg, Germany.

Andrew Hector, Associate Professor of Environmental Studies at the Department of Evolutionary Biology and Environmental Studies, was called to and accepted the post of Full Professor of Ecology at Oxford University, England.

Christian Kaiser, Senior Teaching and Research Assistant for Geographical Information Visualization and Analysis at the Department of Geography, was called to and accepted the post of Maître d'Enseignement et de Recherche at Lausanne University.

Carsten Schradin, Privatdozent for Zoology at the Department of Evolutionary Biology and Environmental Studies, was called to and accepted the post of Chargé de Recherche de 1ère Classe at the Institut Pluridisciplinaire Hubert Curien, Strasbourg, France.

Romain Teyssier, Senior Teaching and Research Assistant at the Institute for Theoretical Physics, was called to, but did not accept, the post of Full Professor of Astrophysics at Oxford University, England.

Lindsay Ann Turnbull, Privatdozentin for Plant Ecology at the Department of Evolutionary Biology and Environmental Studies, was called to, and was called to and accepted the post of Associate Professor at the Department of Plant Sciences.

Christian von Mering, Professor of Computational Biology at the Institute for Molecular Biology, was called to, but did not accept, the post of Professor of Bioinformatics at the Technische Universität Braunschweig and the Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research in Braunschweig, Germany.

Tony Wilson, Assistant Professor of Evolution and Biodiversity at the Department of Evolutionary Biology and Environmental Studies, was called to and accepted the post of Associate Professor of Evolution Biology at the City University of New York, USA.

Ehrungen und Auszeichnungen 2012

Claude Amsler, emeritierter Professor für Experimentalphysik, wurde zum Miglied der SNF-Kommissionen für die Bereiche Ambizione und Förderungsprofessuren gewählt.

Camillo De Lellis, ordentlicher Professor für Reine Mathematik, hat für sein Projekt «RAM – Regularity Theory for Area-Minimizing Currents» einen Starting Grant des Europäischen Forschungsrats ERC erhalten.

Urs F. Greber, ordentlicher Professor für Molekulare Zellbiologie, wurde zum Mitglied in die European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) gewählt.

Daisuke Koyabu, Postdoktorand am Paläontologischen Institut und Museum, hat den «Young Investigator Award» der Mammalogical Society of Japan erhalten.

Cristina Nevado Blázquez, Assistenzprofessorin mit «tenure-track» für Organische Chemie, wurde für ihr Projekt «NIGOCAT – Nature-Inspired Gold Catalytic Tools» mit einem Starting Grant des Europäischen Forschungsrats ERC ausgezeichnet. Ausserdem hat sie den Werner-Preis 2012 erhalten.

John A. Robinson, ordentlicher Professor für Organische Chemie, ist die Goldmedaille des Max-Bergmann-Kreises für seine Verdienste in der Peptidchemie verliehen worden.

Daniel Wachter, Titularprofessor für Geographie, wurde zum Vorsitzenden des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats der deutschen Akademie für Raumforschung und Landesplanung (ARL) ernannt.

Rüdiger Wehner, emeritierter Professor für Zoologie, ist zum Fellow der International Society for Neuroethology ernannt worden.

Michael Zemp, Privatdozent am Geographischen Institut, wurde zum Mitglied des «Terrestrial Observation Panel for Climate TOPC» der UNO und des «Global Climate Observing System GCOS» gewählt.

Rufe an andere Hochschulen

Laura Baudis, ordentliche Professorin am Physik-Institut, hat einen Ruf als Professorin für Experimentalphysik an die Universität Heidelberg, Heidelberg, Deutschland, erhalten und abgelehnt.

Andrew Hector, ausserordentlicher Professor für Umweltwissenschaften am Institut für Evolutionsbiologie und Umweltwissenschaften, hat einen Ruf als ordentlicher Professor für Ökologie an die University of Oxford, Oxford, England, erhalten und angenommen.

Christian Kaiser, Oberassistent für Geographische Informations-Visualisierung und -Analyse am Geographischen Institut, hat einen Ruf als Maître d'Enseignement et de Recherche an die Universität Lausanne erhalten und angenommen.

Carsten Schradin, Privatdozent für Zoologie am Institut für Evolutionsbiologie und Umweltwissenschaften, hat einen Ruf als Chargé de Recherche de 1ère Classe am Institut Pluridisciplinaire Hubert Curien, Strasbourg, Frankreich, erhalten und angenommen.

Romain Teyssier, Oberassistent am Institut für Theoretische Physik, hat einen Ruf als ordentlicher Professor für Astrophysik an die University of Oxford, Oxford, England, erhalten und abgelehnt.

Lindsay Ann Turnbull, Privatdozentin für Pflanzenökologie am Institut für Evolutionsbiologie und Umweltwissenschaften, hat einen Ruf als ausserordentliche Professorin für Pflanzenwissenschaften an die University of Oxford, Oxford, England, erhalten und angenommen.

Christian von Mering, Professor für Computergestützte Biologie am Institut für Molekulare Biologie, hat einen Ruf als Professor für Bioinformatik an die Technische Universität Braunschweig und das Helmholtz-Zentrum für Infektionsforschung, Braunschweig, Deutschland, erhalten und abgelehnt.

Tony Wilson, Assistenzprofessor für Evolution und Biodiversität am Institut für Evolutionsbiologie und Umweltwissenschaften, hat einen Ruf als ausserordentlicher Professor für Evolutionsbiologie an die City University of New York, USA, erhalten und angenommen.