International Cooperation

MNF around the world
MNF around the world

Of the numerous examples of international cooperation, the partnerships with the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN, physics) in Geneva, and the European Space Agency (ESA) deserve special mention. Many members of the faculty belong to one or more European or other international networks, giving them access to ideal partners and major research projects worldwide. 

Cooperation with the European Space Agency (ESA)

The Faculty of Science is proud that its researchers are involved in not just one, but three important ESA missions:

LISA Pathfinder

LISA Pathfinder (Prof. Philippe Jetzer, physics) is a pilot study for the subsequent LISA mission, designed to detect gravitational waves. This, the scientists hope, will give them insights into the origins of the universe. 

Sentinel 1A and Sentinel 2A

The Remote Sensing Laboratories  (Prof. Michael Schaepman, Geography) are involved in two satellite missions, Sentinel 1A and Sentinel 2B. Their aim is to observe the Earth and provide data on soil moisture, terrestrial vegetation, changes in the courses of rivers, and the shape of coasts, etc.

FLEX - ESA's photosynthesis mission

The Fluorescence Explorer (FLEX) satellite mission (Prof. Alexander Damm-Reiser, Geography) will be launched in 2024 to fly in tandem with Sentinel-3. Mission data are expected to provide new insight into the functioning of terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems, and related implications for the carbon and water cycling.

Gran Sasso Underground Laboratory

The Xenon program at the Gran Sasso Underground Laboratory
The Xenon program (Prof. Laura Baudis, Physics) at the Gran Sasso Underground laboratory is designed to directly demonstrate the existence of dark matter by using liquid xenon as a detector medium. In 2007, the magazine "Discover: Science for the Curious" ranked the Xenon experiment as one of the six most important experiments in the world.

Research Groups at CERN

CMS Experiment

The research groups headed by Prof. Florencia Canelli and Prof. Ben Kilminster (physics) are using the Large Hadron Collider at CERN to search for phenomena beyond the standard model of particle physics, to investigate the characteristics of the newly-discovered Higgs particle and how it may be a window to new physics, and to search for production of the dark matter that has been so-far only observed on galactic scales.  Their group has helped construct a precision vertex detector for studying the production and decay of charged particles at CMS.

LHCb

Two UZH research groups are involved in the LHCb experiment under Prof. Ulrich Straumann and Prof. Nicola Serra (physics). The Straumann group played a leading role in developing and building the LHCb Silicon Tracker, and is now responsible for running the detector and analyzing measurement data. The Serra group is using the LHCb detector in search of New Physics, in other words physics beyond the Standard Model. The focus is on rare decays of M mesons. 

SHiP experiment

The Super Proton Synchroton (SIP) at CERN is being used to look for very weak interactions between long-lived particles, in particular sterile neutrinos (Prof. Nicola Serra, physics).

Internationale Kooperationen

Unter den zahlreichen internationalen Kooperationen sind jene mit dem Europäische Organisation für Kernforschung (CERN, Physik) in Genf und der European Space Agency (ESA) besonders zu erwähnen. Viele Mitglieder der Fakultät sind in eines oder mehrere europäische und andere internationale Netzwerke eingebunden, die ihnen ideale Partner und Zugang zu grossen Forschungsprojekten weltweit sichern. 

Kooperationen mit der European Space Agency (ESA)

Die MNF ist stolz darauf, mit ihren Forschern an gleich drei wichtigen ESA-Missionen aktiv beteiligt zu sein:

LISA Pathfinder

LISA Pathfinder (Prof. Philippe Jetzer, Physik) ist die Pilotstudie für die spätere LISA-Mission und dient dem Nachweis von Gravitationswellen. Mit dem diesen erhoffen sich die Forscher Auskunft über die Entstehung des Universums. 

Sentinel 1A und Sentinel 2A

Die Remote Sensing Laboratories  (Prof. Michael Schaepman, Geographie) sind an den beiden Satelliten Sentinell 1A und Sentinell 2B beteiligt. Diese Missionen dienen der Erdbeobachtung und liefern Daten über Bodenfeuchtigkeit, die Landvegetation, die Veränderung von Fluss- und Küstenverläufen etc.

Mission FLEX

Die Remote Sensing Labratories (Dr. Alexander Damm, Geographie) sind am FLEX-Fernerkundungs-Satelliten beteiligt. FLEX - kurz für Fluorescence Explorer - wird in ca. sieben Jahren in die Erdumlaufbahn geschickt und soll dort die globale Pflanzenaktivität zu Land und zu Wasser messen.

Gran Sasso Underground Laboratory

Das Xenon-Programm im Gran Sasso Underground Laboratory
Mit dem Xenon-Programm (Prof. Laura Baudis, Physik) im Felslabor Gran Sasso soll die Existenz von Dunkler Materie mit Hilfe von flüssigem Xenon als Detektor-Medium direkt nachgewiesen werden. Das Magazin "Discover -Science for the Curious" bezeichnete im Jahr 2007  das Xenon-Experiment als eines der sechs wichtigsten Experimente weltweit.

Forschungsgruppen am CERN

CMS-Experiment

Die Forschungsgruppen von Prof. Florencia Canelli und Prof. Ben Kilminster (Physik) untersuchen am Large Hadron Collider die Eigenschaften des Higgs Bosons und seine Beziehungen zu Top Quarks. 

LHCb

Am LHCb-Experiment sind zwei Forschungsgruppen der UZH tätig (Prof. Ulrich Straumann bzw. Prof. Nicola Serra, Physik) Die Forschungsgruppe Straumann spielte bei der Entwicklung und Konstruktion des Silicon Trackers am LHCb eine führende Rolle und ist jetzt für den Betrieb des Detektors verantwortlich und analysiert Messdaten. Die Forschungsgruppe Serra sucht am LHCb-Detektor nach Neuer Physik, d.h. nach Physik jenseits des Standardmodells. Im Fokus stehen die seltenen Zerfälle von B-Mesonen. 

SHiP-Experiment

Am Super Proton Synchroton (SIP) am CERN werden nach den sehr schwachen Interaktionen zwischen langlebigen Teilchen, insbesondere von sterilen Neutrinos gesucht (Prof. Nicola Serra, Physik).