FAQ

What do I have to remember during the semester enrollment procedure?

Semester enrollment takes place in the second half of May for the following fall semester, and in the second half of November for the following spring semester. It's particularly important in the case of new study programs running under the major/minor system to choose a combination of major and minor subjects earning a total of 180 ECTS credits (e.g. major 120 + minor 30 + minor 30, or major 180). You can change the combination of programs at each semester enrollment. However, it's extremely important to make sure that your enrollment for a combination of major and minor programs) is precisely right in the semester in which you intend to graduate. If this is not the case you will not be able to graduate, and you will have to notify the University Student Administration Office to have the problem remedied. This can lead to delays, and in the worst case could extend your studies by a semester.

It's also important to note that credits for a minor subject at another faculty, particularly the Faculty of Economics, Business Administration and Informatics, will only count toward a minor if you are enrolled for the minor in question. Minors at other faculties are subject to the other faculty's regulations.
We recommend doing semester enrollment as quickly as possible and paying the invoice for your semester fees immediately. If there are delays, you run the risk of not being able to book any modules in that particular booking period.

How do I switch from a Bachelor's to a Master's program?

Because semester enrollment for the following semester takes place before the results for the current semester's modules are known, you have to assess for yourself whether you're going to be able to graduate with your Bachelor's degree in the current semester or not.

If you're not sure whether your outstanding ECTS credits will be sufficient, you can enroll for the Master's program by applying for a change of degree program for the following semester when you do your online semester enrollment. If you're not sure, it's best to leave your enrollment for the Bachelor's degree program for the next semester. You don't have to worry about any negative consequences. If you don't manage to graduate for your Bachelor's after all, or this isn't entered in your record by the end of the fourth week of lectures the following semester, the University Student Administration Office will automatically reassign you to the Bachelor's degree program. If, on the other hand, you're still enrolled as a Bachelor's student but have fulfilled all the course requirements for graduation, you can still continue to study normally and start the modules for a Master's degree. You're allowed to transfer up to 30 ECTS credits from a Bachelor's to a Master's degree provided these credits are eligible for transfer and were not required for your Bachelor's degree. Whatever the case, you can only start your Master's thesis once you have completed your Bachelor's.

How do I apply to graduate?

You can download forms to apply to graduate from the website of your major subject. Follow the instructions on the form, complete it, and submit it to the office specified. For Bachelor's degrees this is generally the Student Affairs Office, and for Master's degrees it is generally the coordination office for your major program.

Applications to graduate can be submitted any time provided all the necessary credits are entered in your online summary of credits.
Applications to graduate are validated by the Faculty of Science Committee for Student Affairs; your graduation documents will bear the date of the meeting at which this took place. We must receive applications to graduate by 3 weeks before a meeting so that they can be put on the agenda of the committee's next meeting.

If you do not continue studying at UZH after you graduate with your Bachelor's degree, or if you have completed your Master's degree, you no longer have to matriculate for the following semester if you have completed all course requirements, including submitting your Master's thesis and taking your Master's exam by the beginning of the lecture period the following semester. If you can't make this deadline you must enroll for a further semester. Once your application to graduate has been processed you'll automatically receive a provisional confirmation. Depending on when you submit your application to graduate it may take several weeks before you received your graduation documents.

When do module and repeat exams take place?

Exams for fall semester modules take place in calendar weeks 51 and 2 to 6. Exams for spring semester modules take place in calendar weeks 22 to 28. Repeat exams are not tied to an exam period. However, they generally take place in calendar weeks 35, 36, and 37.
You'll find the exam schedule and information on the written exams for lower-level modules for all study programs here.
The exam schedule for the next two semesters, including repeat exams, is published in early summer.

Information on exams and assessments for modules in later semesters can be found in the online course catalogue.or on the homepage of the subject in question, or will be announced by the instructor responsible at the beginning of the course.

Exams for modules from other faculties of the University are held in the exam periods for the modules from the other faculty, which may differ from those of the Faculty of Science. This also applies to exams for learning units at ETH Zurich, which also holds its exam sessions in January/February and August. To avoid conflicts, find out as soon as possible about the exam dates for the modules you have booked, particularly if you're doing modules from different years of study in the same semester.
 

Where can I find the deadlines for booking modules?

The process for booking modules for the fall semester begins around the second week of August. You can start booking modules for the spring semester from the second week in January. The precise dates for registering and deregistering are specified for each module in the online course catalogue.

For regular courses extending over the whole semester, the deadline for registering is generally the Sunday of the third week of the lecture period. You can deregister up to the Sunday of the tenth week of the lecture period. For other modules special deadlines apply. Please note: the deadline for registering for certain modules is earlier, namely the Sunday a week before lectures begin. Make sure to consult the online course catalogue in good time to find out the precise deadlines for registering and deregistering for the modules you want to attend. The published registration and deregistration deadlines are binding.

You'll find the deadlines for booking block courses in biology on the biology home page.
If a module can't be booked online you'll find details of how and where to register in the online course catalogue.

I'm unable to take an exam because of illness. What should I do?

If illness prevents you from taking an exam, whatever the case you must submit a doctor's note (original copy) to the Student Affairs Office within 5 days. Be sure to write your matriculation number and the name of the module concerned on the note.

If you don't take a regular module exam on the basis of a doctor's note, the regulations specify that you take it on the repeat date. You will receive a written invitation to do so. These letters are sent out at the end of February/beginning of March (fall semester modules) or the third week of July (spring semester modules).

Invitations concerning compulsory modules with a written exam, the letter will come from the Faculty of Science Student Affairs Office. For exams for later-semester modules, especially those involving an oral exam, the invitation will be sent by the department offering the exam. It can also be sent by e-mail.

If you miss a repeat exam on the basis of a doctor's note, you must book the module again via the online booking system and then take the exam or assessment on the regular date. In this case you must ask the instructor responsible whether you have to attend the practical course or training again.

When do I get my transcript of records?

The Faculty of Science sends students their transcript of records around the third week of March and the third week of October. These dates have been chosen so that Faculty of Science students' transcripts include the results of Faculty of Science module exams. In some cases transcripts for students at other faculties are printed and sent out earlier than this. This means that these transcripts may not include the results of Faculty of Science modules. In this case, please only contact the Student Affairs Office if your results don't appear in your online summary of credits at the end of March or end of October respectively. If the results that are missing in your transcript of records are visible in the online summary, they will be included in the next printed transcript of records.

I want to do a course at ETH

If you want or have to do a learning unit at ETH Zurich, you must register with ETH as a special student. You can do this online at www.mystudies.ethz.ch. Each registration is valid for a semester. Once you register you'll receive login data for the ETH system, and will be able do learning units and register for exams. After final course allocation, students who have booked block courses in biology on the joint UZH/ETHZ system must likewise register at ETH, and register online for the relevant courses. Registration is free of charge for University of Zurich students. The deadline for registration is the end of the second week of the lecture period. You'll find more information on the ETH website at www.mystudies.ethz.ch.

If you've registered correctly as a special student with ETH Zurich, the results of the learning units you have attended there will be automatically sent to the University of Zurich. Once results have been signed off by the ETH it takes a few days before the results appear in your online summary of credits.

I want to do a course at the Language Center of the University of Zurich and ETH Zurich

In principle, credit points from language courses offered by the language center can be credited as independent electives for Bachelor's and Master's degree programs. The number of ECTS credits transferred varies from subject to subject. You'll find more information in the guidelines for each subject or from the academic advisor responsible.

To enable credits from language courses to be transferred, please submit a copy of the certificate from the language center to the Faculty of Science Student Affairs Office, either at the counter or by post. Don't forget to note your matriculation number on the copy of the certificate. From May 2016, grades for language courses will be credited automatically and included in your online summary of credits within a matter of days. and you will no longer have to submit a copy of the course confirmation to the Student Affairs Office.

Studying and Military Service

A fact sheet is available containing general information on coordinating your studies with recruit school: see Military service. If you're called up for reserve duty during the lecture period, or if reserve duty coincides with your exams or exam preparation, you can submit a written request for deferral of military service. The fact sheet contains details of how to proceed. The procedure for alternative (civil) service is similar; the only difference is that no form is available, and you must write a written application yourself and then proceed as described on the fact sheet.

FAQ

Was muss ich bei der Semestereinschreibung beachten?

Die Semestereinschreibung findet für das folgende Herbstsemester in der 2. Hälfte Mai und für das jeweils folgende Frühjahrssemester in der 2. Hälfte November statt. Insbesondere für die neuen Studienprogramme nach dem Major/Minor System muss bei der Semestereinschreibung eine Haupt- und Nebenfachkombinationen gewählt werden, die in der Summe 180 ECTS Credits ergibt (z.B. Hauptfach 120 + Nebenfach 30 + Nebenfach 30, oder Hauptfach 180). Die Kombination der Programme kann bei jeder Semestereinschreibung geändert werden. Es ist jedoch äusserst wichtig, dass die Facheinschreibung (d.h. die Einschreibung für eine Kombination aus Haupt- und Nebenfachprogrammen) im Semester, in dem Sie einen Abschluss machen wollen, genau stimmt. Wenn dies nicht der Fall ist, kann Ihr Studienabschluss nicht durchgeführt werden und Sie müssen sich bei der Kanzlei der Universität melden, um dies korrigieren zu lassen. Das kann zu Verzögerungen führen und im ungünstigsten Fall verlängert sich Ihr Studium dadurch um 1 Semester.

Weiterhin gilt es zu beachten, dass Leistungen für ein Nebenfach an einer anderen Fakultät, speziell der Wirtschaftwissenschaftlichen Fakultät, nur dann für das Nebenfach angerechnet werden, wenn eine entsprechende Facheinschreibung vorliegt. Für Nebenfächer an anderen Fakultäten gelten deren Reglemente.
Wir empfehlen Ihnen, die Semestereinschreibung jeweils möglichst schnell zu machen und die Rechnung für die Semestergebühr sofort zu bezahlen. Wenn es hier zu Verzögerungen kommt, riskieren Sie, dass Sie keine Module buchen können, wenn die Buchungsfrist beginnt bzw. endet.

Wie wechsle ich vom Bachelor- in den Masterstudiengang?

Da die Semestereinschreibung für das folgende Semester statt findet, bevor die Resultate der Module des laufenden Semester bekannt sind, müssen Sie selber abschätzen, ob Sie den Bachelorabschluss im laufenden Semester schaffen oder nicht.

Wenn Sie sicher sind, dass es mit den ausstehenden ECTS Credits reichen wird, können Sie sich für das folgende Semester bei der online Semestereinschreibung mittels eines Studiengangswechsels für den Master einschreiben. Wenn Sie unsicher sind, belassen Sie die Einschreibung für das nächste Semester besser noch auf dem Bachelorstudiengang. Negative Konsequenzen müssen Sie nicht befürchten. Falls Sie den Bachelorabschluss doch nicht schaffen sollten bzw. wenn dieser bis zum Ende der 4. Woche der Veranstaltungszeit des folgenden Semester nicht in Ihrer Akte eingetragen ist, werden Sie von der Kanzlei der Universität automatisch wieder in den Bachelorstudiengang eingestuft. Falls Sie im anderen Fall noch als Bachelorstudierender eingeschrieben sind, aber alle Leistungen für den Abschluss erfüllt haben, können Sie trotzdem normal weiter studieren und mit den Modulen des Masterstudiums beginnen. Es ist erlaubt, bis zu 30 ECTS Credits vom Bachelor- ins Masterstudium zu übertragen, falls diese Leistungen für den Master anrechenbar sind und für den Bachelorabschluss nicht benötigt werden. Mit der Masterarbeit darf auf alle Fälle erst begonnen werden, wenn der Bachelorabschluss vorliegt.

Wie beantrage ich den Studienabschluss?

Die Formulare für die Beantragung des Studienabschlusses können von der Website Ihres Hauptfachs herunter geladen werden. Folgen Sie den Anweisungen auf dem Formular und reichen Sie es ausgefüllt bei der angegebenen Stelle ein. Für Bachelorabschlüsse ist dies in der Regel das Studiendekanat und für den Masterabschluss die Koordinationsstelle Ihres Hauptfachprogrammes.

Anträge für den Studienabschluss können jederzeit eingereicht werden, falls alle erforderlichen Leistungen in Ihrer online Leistungsübersicht eingetragen sind.
Abschlussanträge werden von der Studienkommission der MNF validiert und die Abschlussdokumente tragen das Datum der entsprechenden Sitzung. Abschlussanträge müssen bis 3 Wochen vor einer Sitzung der Studienkommission bei uns eingetroffen sein, damit sie für die nächste Sitzung traktandiert werden können.

Falls Sie nach dem Bachelorabschluss nicht an der UZH weiter studieren oder wenn Sie das Masterstudium abgeschlossen haben, müssen Sie sich für das folgende Semester nicht mehr immatrikulieren, wenn Sie alle Leistungen, inkl. Abgabe der Masterarbeit und der Masterprüfung, bis zum Beginn der Vorlesungszeit des folgenden Semesters abgeschlossen haben. Wenn dieser Termin nicht eingehalten werden kann, ist eine weitere Semestereinschreibung nötig. Wenn Ihr Abschlussantrag verarbeitet ist, erhalten Sie automatisch eine vorläufige Bestätigung. Je nach Abgabezeitpunkt des Abschlussantrages kann es einige Wochen dauern, bis Sie die Abschlussdokumente erhalten.

Wann finden Modulprüfungen und Repetitionsprüfungen statt?

Die Prüfungen der Module des Herbstsemesters finden in den Kalenderwochen (KW) 51 und 2 bis 6 statt. Die Prüfungen der Module des Frühjahrssemester in den KW 22 bis 28. Die Repetitionsprüfungen sind an keine Prüfungsperioden gebunden. Sie finden aber in der Regel in den KW 35, 36 und 37 statt.

Den Prüfungsplan mit den Daten der schriftlichen Prüfungen der Grundstudiumsmodule aller Studienprogramme finden Sie hier.

Der Prüfungsplan wird jeweils im Frühsommer für die beiden folgendenden Semester inkl. der Repetitionsprüfungen publiziert.

Informationen zu den Prüfungen/Leistungsnachweisen für Module der höheren Semester sind im online Vorlesungsverzeichnis oder auf der Homepage des anbietenden Fachs zu finden bzw. sie werden von den modulverantwortlichen Dozierenden am Anfang der Veranstaltung bekann gegeben.

Für Prüfungen von Modulen von anderen Fakultäten der Universität gelten deren Prüfungsperioden, die von den Prüfungsperioden der MNF abweichen können. Das gilt auch für Prüfungen von Lerneinheiten der ETH Zürich, deren Prüfungssessionen jeweils im Januar/Februar und im August statt finden. Achten Sie frühzeitig auf die Prüfungsdaten der Module, die Sie gebucht haben, um Überschneidungen zu vermeiden. Das ist insbesondere dann der Fall, wenn Sie Module aus unterschiedlichen Studienjahren im selben Semester belegen wollen.

Wo finde ich die Fristen für die Modulbuchung?

Die Modulbuchung für das Herbstsemester beginnt ca. in der 2. Woche August. Die Module des Frühjahrsemesters können Sie ab der 2. Woche im Januar buchen. Die genauen Daten für die An- und Abmeldungen sind im online Vorlesungsverzeichnis bei jedem Modul aufgeführt. 

Für normale, ganzsemestrige Veranstaltungen ist in der Regel der Anmeldeschluss am Sonntag der 3. Woche der VorlesungszeitAbmelden kann man sich bis am Sonntag der 10. Woche der Veranstaltungszeit. Für andere Module gelten spezielle Fristen. Achtung: Für einige Module gilt ein vorgezogener Anmeldeschluss am Sonntag eine Woche vor Beginn der Veranstaltungen. Orientieren Sie sich unbedingt frühzeitig im online Vorlesungsverzeichnis über die genauen An- und Abmeldedaten der Module, die Sie besuchen wollen. Die publizierten Fristen für die An- und Abmeldung sind verbindlich.

Die Fristen für die Reservation der Biologie-Blockkurse finden Sie auf der Homepage der Biologie.

Bei Modulen, die nicht online buchbar sind, steht im online Vorlesungsverzeichnis, wie und wo man sich anmelden kann.

Ich kann eine Prüfung wegen Krankheit nicht ablegen. Was muss ich tun?

Wenn Sie wegen Krankheit nicht an einer Prüfung teilnehmen können, müssen Sie in jedem Fall dem Studiendekanat innerhalb von 5 Tagen ein ärztliches Zeugnis im Original einreichen. Schreiben Sie in jedem Fall ihre Matrikel-Nr. dazu und um welche Module es geht.

Falls Sie sich für eine reguläre Modulprüfung krank gemeldet haben, müssen Sie die Prüfung gemäss Reglement am Repetitionstermin nachholen. Sie erhalten eine schriftliche Aufforderung. Diese wird für die Module des Herbstsemesters Ende Februar/Anfang März und für die Module des Frühjahrssemesters in der 3. Woche Juli verschickt.

Für die Pflichtmodule mit schriftlicher Prüfung kommt der Brief vom Studiendekanat der MNF. Für die Prüfungen von Modulen der höheren Semester, insbesondere solche mit mündlicher Prüfung, erfolgt die Einladung direkt vom anbietenden Institut. Die Einladung kann auch per E-Mail erfolgen.

Falls Sie sich für eine Repetitionsprüfung krank gemeldet haben, ist das Modul erneut über das online Buchungssystem zu buchen und die Prüfung/der Leistungsnachweis muss dann am regulären Termin abgelegt werden. In diesem Fall müssen Sie mit den verantwortlichen Dozierenden abklären, ob Sie ein Praktikum oder die Übungen nochmals besuchen müssen.

Wann erhalte ich den Leistungsausweis?

Für Studierende der MNF werden die Leistungsausweise ungefähr in der 3. Woche März und in der 3. Woche Oktober verschickt. Diese Daten sind so gewählt, dass die Resultate der Modulprüfungen der MNF auf den Leistungsausweisen der Studierenden der MNF vorhanden sind. Die Leistungsausweise von Studierenden anderer Fakultäten werden z.T. früher gedruckt und verschickt. Daher ist es möglich, dass auf diesen Leistungsausweisen die Resultate von Modulen der MNF fehlen. Bitte melden Sie sich in diesem Fall nur beim Studiendekanat, wenn Ihre Resultate Ende März bzw.  Ende Oktober noch nicht in Ihrer online Leistungsübersicht sichtbar sind. Wenn Sie die auf dem Leistungsausweis fehlenden Resultate online sehen, werden sie auf dem nächsten gedruckten Leistungsausweis vorhanden sein.

Ich möchte eine Veranstaltung an der ETH besuchen

Wenn Sie an der ETH Zürich Lerneinheiten besuchen wollen bzw. müssen, müssen Sie sich an der ETH als Fachstudierende/Fachstudierender registrieren. Sie können das online auf www.mystudies.ethz.ch machen. Die Registrierung gilt jeweils für ein Semester. Sie erhalten dann Zugangsdaten zum ETH-System und können Lerneinheiten belegen und sich für Prüfungen anmelden. Studierende, die Biologie-Blockkurse über das gemeinsame UZH/ETHZ System reserviert haben, müssen sich nach der definitiven Kurseinteilung ebenfalls an der ETH registrieren und die entsprechenden Kurse online belegen. Die Registrierung ist für Studierende der Universität Zürich kostenlos. Anmeldeschluss für die Registrierung ist das Ende der 2. Woche der Vorlesungszeit. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Homepage der ETH unter www.mystudies.ethz.ch.

Falls Sie sich korrekt bei der ETH Zürich als Fachstudierende/Fachstudierender registriert haben, werden die Resultate der Lerneinheiten, die Sie dort besucht haben, automatisch an die Universität Zürich geliefert. Nach der Notenfreigabe an der ETH dauert es einige Tage bis die Resultate in Ihrer online Leistungsübersicht sichtbar sind.

Ich möchte einen Kurs am Sprachenzentrum der Universität und der ETH Zürich besuchen

Prinzipiell können Kreditpunkte aus Sprachkursen des Sprachenzentrums im Wahlbereich der Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge angerechnet werden. Wie viele ECTS Credits das sind, ist von Fach zu Fach verschieden. Entsprechende Informationen finden Sie in den Wegleitungen der Fächer. Auch die Studienfachberatungen können Auskunft geben.

Damit die Leistungen aus Sprachkursen erfasst werden können, geben Sie bitte eine Kopie der Bescheinigung des Sprachenzentrums am Schalter des Studiendekanats ab oder schicken es per Post. Bitte notieren Sie auf der Kopie Ihre Matrikel-Nummer. Ab Mai 2016 werden die Noten für Ihre Sprachkurse automatisch erfasst und sind innerhalb weniger Tage in Ihrer online Leistungsübersicht sichtbar. Die Abgabe einer Kopie der Kursbestätigung beim Studiendekanat der MNF ist dann nicht mehr nötig.

Studium und Militär

Zum Thema Koordination von Studium und Rekrutenschule gibt es ein Merkblatt mit allgemeinen Informationen - siehe Militärdienst. Falls Sie während der Vorlesungszeit für einen Wiederholungskurs aufgeboten werden oder wenn sich der WK mit Prüfungen bzw. der Prüfungsvorbereitung überschneidet, können Sie ein Dienstverschiebungsgesuch einreichen. Auf diesem Merkblatt finden Sie Informationen, wie Sie vorgehen müssen. Die Vorgehensweise für den Zivildienst ist analog, nur dass dafür kein Formular zur Verfügung steht. Schreiben Sie in diesem Fall selber ein schriftliches Gesuch und gehen Sie dann gleich vor, wie im Merkblatt beschrieben.