MNF Gender Equality Committee

Duties of the Ad Hoc Gender Equality Committee

The Faculty of Science's ad hoc Gender Equality Committee advises the Faculty Assembly, the Faculty Committee, and the Faculty Dean on matters relating to gender equality in appointment and preferment procedures, and in other areas not covered by the central UZH Gender Equality Committee. The committee conducts projects autonomously or on behalf of the Office of the Dean or the Faculty Assembly.


The ad hoc Gender Equality Committee's main responsibilities involve coordination in the following areas: 

  • Supporting and monitoring professorial appointment and preferment procedures within the Faculty of Science;
  • Organizing and assisting in the organization of Faculty of Science information events on topics such as unconscious gender bias, best practice gender measures, etc.
  • Promoting family-friendly working conditions;
  • Sharing of information among subject areas in matters of gender equality;
  • Cooperation between the Faculty of Science's Gender Equality Committee and the UZH Gender Equality Commission.

The creation of the ad hoc Gender Equality Committee was approved on 14 April 2016 by the Faculty Assembly.

Members of the Ad Hoc Gender Equality Committee

Lastname Firstname E-Mail Institute
Backhaus Norman Mailadress Geography, TP/PD representative
Caflisch Amedeo Mailadress Department of Biochemistry (Joint Departments MeF/MNF)
Conti Elena Mailadress Department of Systematic and Evolutionary Botany
Diek Sanne Mailadress Geography, teaching and research assistant representative
Gilland Lutz Karin Mailadress
Hunkeler-Wittleder Ruth Mailadress Geographie, representative of admin./tech. staff
Kohler Ines Mailadress
König Barbara Mailadress Department of Evolutionary Biology and Environmental Studies
Kresch Andrew Mailadress Institute of Mathematics
Müller Yves Mailadress Biology, student representative
Müller-Böker Ulrike Mailadress Department of Geography
Patzke Greta R. Mailadress Department of Chemistry
Petchey Sara Mailadress
Seibert Petra Mailadress
Sigel Roland K.O. Mailadress
Stoeckli Esther Mailadress Institute of Molecular Life Sciences
Straumann Ulrich Mailadress Physics Institute