Honors and Distinctions in 2004

Bühler Elisabeth, mandated instructor at the Faculty of Science was named a member of the Steering Committee of the Commission on Gender and Geography at the International Geographic Union Congress in Glasgow. 

Prof. Dr. Hafen Ernst, Full Professor of Zoology, specializing in Molecular Developmental Biology, received the Otto Naegeli Award from the Bonizzi Theler Foundation for the promotion of medical research in recognition of his successful research work. The Otto Naegeli Award is one of Switzerland's most significant scientific distinctions.

PD Hellriegel Barbara, Privatdozent in Zoology, specializing in Mathematical Biology, was elected Fellow of the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin (Institute for Advanced Study).

Prof. Dr. Hennet Thierry, Assistant Professor of Physiology, was presented with the prestigious 2004 Körber European Science Award together with an international team of doctors, biochemists and cell biologists.  

Prof. Dr. Martinoia Enrico, Full Professor of Plant Biology, was chosen to continue his adjunct professorship at Postech Universität in Pohang, South Korea, for a second period.  

The Molecular Partners research group of the Department of Biochemistry and the NovoGEL project of ETH Zurichwon the Aventure.ch business plan contest.  

Prof. Dr. Thompson Alan B., Full Professor of Mineralogy and Petrology, was elected as Fellow of the World Innovation Foundation. 

Prof. Dr. Turner Dennis C., Private Lecturer at the Vetsuisse Faculty for small animal behavior and Assistant Professor at the Institute of Zoology, was elected to the Board of the London-based World Society for the Protection of Animals (WSPA). (Also see the Vetsuisse Faculty site)  

Wehner Rüdiger, Full Professor of Zoology, was elected as Senator of the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. 

Prof. Dr. Weissmann Charles, Professor Emeritus of Molecular Biology with a focus on chemistry and genetics, was appointed Honorary Senior Fellow by the Institute of Neurology, University College London, England. He was also named Distinguished Research Professor by the Department of Biological Sciences, Florida Atlantic University, USA, and elected as Chairman and Member of the Steering Committee by the Department of Infectology, Scripps Florida Research Institute, USA. Dr. Weissmann additionally received Warren Alpert Foundation Prize from Harvard Medical School.