Faculty of Science - A Brief Portrait

The Faculty of Science is one of the University of Zurich’s seven faculties. With over 3,500 enrolled students, the Faculty has registered the highest growth in student numbers at UZH in recent years – a clear sign of the increasing societal significance of the natural sciences. The Faculty of Science comprises eleven departments, and is a partner in eight joint institutes and three associated institutes. 

With professors from 20 countries, the Faculty conducts cutting-edge research and collaborates in diverse interdisciplinary research networks. Key national research partners include the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Zurich, ETH Zurich, the Paul Scherrer Institute, and CERN in Geneva. The Faculty of Science works closely with companies from business and industry, particularly in the areas of pharmaceutical and software development. Its numerous successful spin-offs highlight the social relevance of the Faculty’s research.